Special Olympics National Games 2014
Special Olympics National Games 2014
From 25 July - 2 August 2015, Team Australia athletes will wear the green and gold with pride in Los Angeles, USA for the biggest ever Special Olympics World Summer Games. They will be amongst 7,000 Special Olympics athletes from 177 countries in the biggest celebration of ability ever seen!

Team Australia

Special Olympics World Summer Games 2015

Los Angeles is a city full of movie stars and all-stars. But in 2015, Special Olympics athletes will be the real stars as 7,000 athletes with an intellectual disability from 177 countries compete across 25 sports at the Special Olympics World Summer Games.

The Games which will be held in Los Angeles, USA from 25 July –2 August 2015, will be the largest sports and humanitarian event anywhere in the world in 2015.

The Australian delegation of 76 athletes and 34 volunteer officials will compete in aquatics, athletics, basketball, bocce, equestrian, football, golf, gymnastics, sailing, softball, tennis, tenpin bowling.


Every two years, the world transcends the boundaries of geography, nationality, political philosophy, gender, age, culture and religion, to come together for the largest sporting and humanitarian event on the planet, the Special Olympics World Games.

Alternating between summer and winter Games, this is the flagship event of the Special Olympics movement and one of the most powerful vehicles for communicating to the world the abilities and gifts of people with an intellectual disability.

The World Games Experience

Previous Games Archives

World Summer Games 2011

Athens, Greece

View the Archive

World Winter Games 2013

PyeongChang, Republic of Korea

View the Archive

World Summer Games

1968      Chicago, Illinois
1970      Chicago, Illinois
1972      Los Angeles, California
1975      Mt. Pleasant, Michigan
1979      Brockport, New York
1983      Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1987      South Bend, Indiana
1991      Minneapolis/St. Paul, Minnesota
1995      New Haven, Connecticut
1999      Raleigh/Durham, North Carolina
2003      Dublin, Ireland
2007      Shanghai, China
2011      Athens, Greece
2015      Los Angeles, California